Police Jobs
RealPolice Forums
Police Gear
Police Agencies

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: DEA FAST Teams

JitsuBear is offline Junior Member JitsuBear is on a distinguished road

DEA FAST Teams

Im new to this Forum so bare with me. I am very interested in the DEA I have a BA in CJ and 7yrs experince. as a full-time cop and a few years of SWAT experience. Im 27yrs old and I have been working hard at my LE career. Do to personal reasons I never got to join the military, but was always wanted a fast paced career. I am a local cop now, and would Love "One Day" to make it to a faster paced team like the DEA FAST team. I love the idea of FBI HRT, but you go to the FBI to be an agent not in hopes of being an HRT operator and if i had the choice of being a DEA Agent or FBI Im pretty sure id be happier in the DEA.
    Correct me if Im wrong but with my LE experience the DEA overall seems way more Hands on and in the field. The FBI can also be hands on, but they seem not to get their hands as dirty. Way more like straight Detectives overall, instead of the DEA who come across as Road Guys,similar to my State's or Countys Narcotics Strike Force which I have worked with. Just my impression. I know it is Very difficult to get a spot on one of the FAST Teams, but In comparison to HRT how are they? How is the Selection/Course of the FAST Teams? Do you have to wait a certain amount of years before being able to apply like with HRT? I have a lot of info on HRT but little on the FAST Teams, trainning, selection, etc. THANKS for Any Info