Police Officer Preparation & Law Enforcement Resource - Archive

The REAL POLICE FORUM is a leading community of police officers and law enforcement professionals. The forum includes police chat and restricted areas for police officers only. The ask-a-cop area allows you to ask questions to real police officers and only verified police are allowed to respond. REALPOLICE.com also features law enforcement jobs, news, training materials and expert articles.

View Full Version : felony charge nolle prosequi

rgame
01-25-10, 04:29 PM
Hello to all,

This is my first post here. I have been following these forums and several others for awhile now and decided its time to get some feedback on my problem. I have recently applied to several different agencies and have not gotten to the background check yet. Here is my problem that im worried about:

Right after i graduated highschool i was still living at home with my mother, this was 2004. I have always been aware that my mother had a very big alcohol problem. However, i was not aware of the drug problem she had. Long story short, after the DEA was watching a guy that was seen coming in and out of our house for several months they decided to bust in the door with a search warrant. This was august 2004. During their search they found some very small amount of cocaine, a digital scale, and roughly $2500. They seperated us all and interrogated each one of us to try and get a confession for whose dope and money was it. There were four people in the house including my girlfriend, my mother, my mothers friend, and myself. Me and my girlfriend had no clue as to what was going on and appearantly my mother and her friend couldn't decide who the drugs belonged to. So naturally everyone in the house was charged with possession w/ intent to distribute narcotics. When we all went to court everyones charges were nolle pross except for my mothers that was put on a stet. So my question is do you all think the BI will be understanding of my si