Police Officer Preparation & Law Enforcement Resource - Archive

The REAL POLICE FORUM is a leading community of police officers and law enforcement professionals. The forum includes police chat and restricted areas for police officers only. The ask-a-cop area allows you to ask questions to real police officers and only verified police are allowed to respond. REALPOLICE.com also features law enforcement jobs, news, training materials and expert articles.

jmwilso3
11-26-08, 10:20 AM
Hey all,

I'm a college student and hopeful LEO. I'm studying Terry stops in class right now and I wanted to get perspective from some LEO's.

1. What is enough reasonable suspicion to terry stop some one? Just a hunch? I.E. seeing a completely normal person walking down the street at night. What does the totality of the circumstances need to be in order for you to feel lawful about a terry stop?

2. What does a citizen that has been terry stopped have to tell the LEO? I've heard just thier name and birthday, but I've also heard "suspects" have to tell what they are doing, why are they here, ect... Can citizens just ID themselves and then remain silent?

3. Supposedly in a Terry a LEO can search the outer clothing for weapons. The point of the frisk is officer safety, correct? What if an officer does his pat down and feels what he believes to be a bag of weed in an outer pocket. Since it is does not feel like a weapon can he search it? Or does the feeling of something like drugs give the LEO probable cause to do a full on search?

Thanks.

txinvestigator1
11-26-08, 11:27 AM
Hey all,

I'm a college student and hopeful LEO. I'm studying Terry stops in class right now and I wanted to get perspective from some LEO's.