Police Officer Preparation & Law Enforcement Resource - Archive

The REAL POLICE FORUM is a leading community of police officers and law enforcement professionals. The forum includes police chat and restricted areas for police officers only. The ask-a-cop area allows you to ask questions to real police officers and only verified police are allowed to respond. REALPOLICE.com also features law enforcement jobs, news, training materials and expert articles.

View Full Version : POST Exam?

FeudalBaron
08-18-05, 07:08 PM
I'm studying for the POST Exam (Missouri), and would appreciate any recommendations on study material (i.e. prep books, etc.).

Thanks.

Citicop
08-18-05, 08:31 PM
I'm studying for the POST Exam (Missouri), and would appreciate any recommendations on study material (i.e. prep books, etc.).

Thanks.

Are you talking about the POST test given at the end of the Academy? If so, what materials did the academy give you?

Citicop.

FeudalBaron
08-18-05, 08:52 PM
No, in MO I'm applying for the POST exam (thru state testing) for my PO Licensure. In MO, I am considered a "Veteran Peace Officer," and can apply for licensure (used to be called "certification"). I am not a current LEO, and haven't ever been one outside of 10+ years of military LE (and I have schooling, etc.). I'm looking for a good generalist resource for this state exam. I'm already looking at the state statutes, 4/5 Amend., and the Constitution.

Thanks.

FeudalBaron
08-19-05, 12:42 AM
To further explain my last post, I've added an excerpt from the Missouri Department of Public Safety, POST Program (see #5)
Chapter 590.040 RSMo
1. The POST commission shall set the minimum number of hours of basic training
for licensure as a peace officer no lower than four hundred seventy and no higher
than six hundred, with the following exceptions:
(1) Up to one thousand hours may be mandated for any class of license
required for commission by a state law enforcement agency;