Police Officer Preparation & Law Enforcement Resource - Archive

The REAL POLICE FORUM is a leading community of police officers and law enforcement professionals. The forum includes police chat and restricted areas for police officers only. The ask-a-cop area allows you to ask questions to real police officers and only verified police are allowed to respond. REALPOLICE.com also features law enforcement jobs, news, training materials and expert articles.

View Full Version : Officer With ADHD???

ProfessorFrink
07-13-04, 06:00 AM
Could an Officer diagnosed with ADHD be able to keep being a Police Officer?? What are the health laws of wanting to become a police officer on that if a person with ADHD wants to join the force?

Because I need answers, because I think I am diagnosed with ADD, and I want to become a Police Officer. Now how does this affect me wanting to join on the force??

TheGodFather21
07-13-04, 06:34 AM
I'm no medical proffesional by any means but as long as you can make it through the acadamy and follow directions i don't see where there would be a problem. Just my opinion.

Oldbillplod
07-13-04, 08:25 AM
It should be ok as long as you dont need to take your mum with you whilst out on patrol to slap your legs should you get into a tantrum ;)

Jynkxxie
07-13-04, 08:31 AM
I am not a cop. I have heard that once you are ON the force there is not a whole lot they can do as long as you are fully functional. I am not quite sure how the other way around is.

nabnet
07-13-04, 10:23 AM
Actually, I've seen probationary releases and terminations for a whole bunch of reasons. Of course, most of the terminations are overturned at some point, but I would caution against a general statement that cops are hard to fire. All it would take for a cop suffering from attention deficit disorder is a fitness for duty exam, some purchased evidence and a career is over.

Rex

Jynkxxie
07-13-04, 10:33 AM