Its important to understand that each state has its own dui laws, and penalties. For example, Washing State DUI laws set the legal alcohol limit at .08% bac. The person's actual intoxication level could be higher in other states and still be legal. However, most states now have a legal limit of .08%.
However, states differ strongly when it comes to the penalties. Texas dwi law for instance says drivers can be stopped and cited for impaired driving due to alcohol or other drugs, regardless of their BAC. Texas also has a zero tolerance law. For anyone under 21, it is illegal to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol, period. This differs from Washing State dui laws slightly.
Take Missouri dwi laws as another example. Drunk driving cases there are commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated (DWI) when alcohol related, or even driving under the influence (DUI) where drugs are involved. If someone was in Missouri and arrested for drunk driving, DWI or even a DUI refusal to take a chemical test, it can be used as evidence in court against them. The result is criminal and administrative penalties, meaning a longer license suspension.
The bottom line is, weather its Washing State DUI laws, Texas DWI law or even Missouri DWI laws, every state provides severe and stiff penalties for these crimes. The best way to avoid getting in this situation is taking precautions when planning on drinking alcohol.
First off, understand that the "amount of alcohol" in relation to the "time in which it was consumed" are two of the main factors to consider when it comes to your alcohol level. For example, if a person drank 10 beers over a 10 hour period, its likely the person would never be legally drunk. However, if that same person drank 10 beers over a 2 hour period, its highly likely they would be drunk. Other factors to consider are a person's weight, how often they drink, if they have anything else in their system, etc.
Of course the best way to avoid all of these dui laws is simply to have a designated driver, or just plan to "not" drive after you drink. Planning ahead is the key, not "after" you're at the party.
In any case, regardless of your state, most laws will be very similar to Washington State DUI laws, or Texas DWI laws, period.
Alcohol Treatment & FAQ's - The Alcohol Treatment & FAQ area provides information on Alcohol Treatment, Alcohol Abuse, Alcohol Addiction, etc. Because alcohol has historically been known to go hand in hand with police work, this page was put together to educate officers and their families who seek information on this subject.
Drinking and Driving - Summary: Driving drunk has stiff penalties. This example from New Jersey is just one example of how most states deal with the offense.
Common Questions - Learn how much alcohol is "too much" alcohol that can put you over the limit, alcohol blood tests and breath tests, etc.
The Constitution of the United States - The United States Constitution by sections and amendments.
Police Entertainment - Videos, pictures, and articles that will keep you entertained.